Tuesday 31 January 2023

SACS Task Groups

The main responsibility for evaluating proposals for new stratigraphic units (or revisions of existing ones) as well as obtaining standardised descriptions of both new and existing units for publication rests with the 18 SACS task groups. The segments of South African geology for which the various task groups are responsible are given below (together with the names of the task group chairpersons):

  • Cenozoic Rocks (Prof. T.C. Partridge)
  • Jurassic & Cretaceous Rocks (Prof. R.W. Shone)
  • Karoo Supergroup (sedimentary rocks) (Dr. E.M. Bordy)
  • Karoo Igneous Province (Prof. J.S. Marsh)
  • Gariep–Cape Rocks (Mr. J.C. Loock)
  • Cape Granite Suite (Prof. A.E. Schoch)
  • Pre-Karoo Rocks in Kwazulu-Natal & Mpumalanga South of 26½°S (Prof. M.K. Watkeys)
  • Pre-Gariep Rocks in the Northern and Western Cape (Prof. A.E. Schoch)
  • Waterberg & Soutpansberg Groups (Dr. G. Brandl)
  • Bushveld Complex & Surrounding Basic Intrusives (vacant)
  • Transvaal Supergroup West of 25°E & Olifantshoek Supergroup (Prof. N.J. Beukes)
  • Transvaal Supergroup East of 25°E (Prof. P.G. Eriksson)
  • Ventersdorp Supergroup (Prof. W.A. van der Westhuizen)
  • Witwatersrand Supergroup, Dominion Group & Related Rocks (Prof. T.S. McCarthy)
  • Swazian Rocks & Pre-Bushveld Intrusives (excl. eastern area south of 26½°S) (Prof. C.R. Anhaeusser)
  • Alkaline Rocks (Prof. W.J. Verwoerd)
  • Biostratigraphy (Prof. B.S. Rubidge)
  • Chronostratigraphy (Prof. M.J. Viljoen)

This facility has been originally designed for display at a resolution of 1280 x 1024 screen pixels, but is nevertheless responsive to mobile devices with constrained displays.  We recommend the use of either the Firefox© or Chrome© browser software product for an optimal viewing experience.  The facility is hosted and sponsored by the Council for Geoscience.  Copyright © 2006 - Current, South African Committee for Stratigraphy.

| Terms and Condition of Use | Privacy Policy | Electronic Mail Disclaimer |